The Scottish Pharmacy Awards ceremony recently returned – with the evening pulsating with more poignancy and importance than ever before.

Following the transition of last year’s event online in response to COVID-19 restrictions, Scotland’s pharmacists were once again able to come together in-person and be publicly recognised for their excellence throughout the last 18 months and beyond. The Crowne Plaza Hotel, Glasgow, was the venue of choice for the 2021 ceremony, with esteemed presenter Laura McGhie taking the helm as host and commanding the 200-plus audience which encompassed a mix of the sector’s professionals, students, and key industry representatives. Over the course of the evening, the title-holders of the eight competitive categories were announced, including Independent Community Pharmacy Practice of the Year and Hospital Pharmacy Team of the Year. Rounding off the proceedings was the announcement of the 2021 Special Recognition Award honouree – which, for the first time, was dedicated to the entire Scottish pharmacy community in tribute to their collaborative efforts, commitment and resilience in the face of unprecedented COVID-19 pressures. Throughout the evening, funds were also raised for this year’s nominated charity, SAMH, Scotland’s national mental health charity.

All the winners will be featured in the forthcoming edition of Scottish Pharmacy Review, while the exclusive pictures can now be viewed online by visiting www.scottishpharmacyawards.info.

Independent Community Pharmacy Practice of the Year Award winner, The Cadham Pharmacy Team, Glenrothes, with Richard Stephenson, Edinpharm, and Stephen McBurney, Associate Director of Pharmacy (NHS Lothian)

Pharmacy Student Leadership Award winner, Jack Murphy, Robert Gordon University, with Professor Anne Boyter, University of Strathclyde, and Maurice Hickey, The Pharmacists’ Defence Association

Business Development of the Year Award winner, The Murray Pharmacy Team, East Kilbride, with Brian Chambers, AAH Pharmaceuticals, and Fiona McElrea, Whithorn Pharmacy

Ken Sutherland, Ethypharm UK, and Duncan Hill, Specialist Pharmacist in Substance Dependency (NHS Lanarkshire), collecting the Management of Substance Dependency in the Community Award on behalf of its winner, The Aberdeenshire Pilot Scheme

Pharmacy Assistant of the Year Award winner, Janette Currie, Paton & Finlay Pharmacy, with Chris Miller, Primary Care and Community Pharmacy Co-Ordinator (NHS Lothian), and Leanne Birtwistle, L’Oréal Active Cosmetics UK

Excellence in Delivering Self-Care Agenda in Community Pharmacy Award winner, Right Medicine Pharmacy, with Graham Powrie, Johnson & Johnson, and John McAnaw, Head of Pharmacy at NHS 24

Innovative Use of Technology in Community Pharmacy Award winner, The Mackie Pharmacy Team, Dumbarton, with Kenny Lawton, Cegedim Healthcare Solutions, and George Romanes, Romanes Pharmacy

Hospital Pharmacy Team of the Year Award winner, The Peri-Operative Medicines Management Project Team (NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde), with Paul Concannon, Ethypharm UK, and Alison Wilson, Director of Pharmacy (NHS Borders)

Andrew Carruthers, Royal Pharmaceutical Society Scotland, collecting the Special Recognition Award on behalf of its winner, the Scottish pharmacy community in tribute to their COVID-19 contributions, with Chris Flannagan, Kyron Media

Venue location

The Crowne Plaza Hotel, Glasgow

Contact us

For more information

Suite 15, Martrey House, Ravenhill Business Park, Belfast, BT6 8AW
02890 999 441